Radio Free Caemlyn Returns to Its Roots

Last night I resumed somethng I used to do with Radio Free Caemlyn, back before Friday Night Trivia became the main thing that podcast is known for. Following on from the news that MonotoneTim will be hosting his own radio show on his Uni’s radio station, I thought back to what I had once been doing with Radio Free Caemlyn, when I would host impromptu live shows, with a mix of music sets and discussion on various topics. I never had a set schedule for those, I’d just do one whenever I felt like.

Well, I thought, why not bring that old format back? Why not resume what I used to do, only this time have a set schedule for these? So last night, on my test channel on TalkShoe (it’s a secret to everyone), I hosted a live show, playing sets of video game music (I find that works best with these shows) and discussing myriad topics. I now have that recording up on the proper RFC feed in case you want to give it a listen.

Now, several issues come to mind when dealing with this idea: it’d be neat to have an audience for these live shows, but I’m not sure how to deal with callers, should people want to call in and join me on the air. Whenever I’m on the air with someone, I feel that music is an intrusion, so if I have callers on the air with me, I’ll hold off on playing sets of music. Unless they’re okay with that, and we’re at a break in the discussion anyway.

That’s the main thing, which I guess I just resolved anyway. Then there’s the other thing, that being audio quality. It’d be nice to enjoy the music, but audio through TalkShoe is very compressed. I’d like to have clear audio, so the music sounds the best. I’ll look into alternative methods of streaming, to get that higher audio quality, but whatever I find that way won’t be done live via TalkShoe (sure, the recordings will (hopefully) be uploaded to the RFC feed).

But it’s all about the audio quality, and what TalkShoe provides just is not up to what I want.

Hope to see you on the next live show. I’ll try to do these each Thursday night, 9-11pm eastern time, TalkShoe ID 72402.

Leave a Reply

